top of page
  • Writer's picturejajuliuss

The Sirens

Updated: Dec 30, 2022


It was still dark when I felt the ground shaking; I was sleeping in mommy’s arms when I heard the sirens wailing. I had not fully awake yet when my mom put a jacket on me. She put me in her arm, tight enough that I could barely breathe. On our way out, I see dad, hastily packing the things from the house into this old bag. As we got out of the house, the sirens became louder and louder. Dad was behind us, running with the huge bag. I could sense my mom’s heartbeat rushing.


“Everything is okay baby”. She whispered.


The cold night air was cold and dusty. The stars were just beautiful as usual, though something was wrong. They were falling from the skies. I still cannot forget the picture of Mrs. Liliya’s house when it got crushed into dust. The fallen stars literally crushed the building. Now I know why there was lots of dust in the air. For the next minute, I heard another loud bang, probably another star has fallen. A metal pole in front of what was Mr. Larry’s house is still standing firmly on the ground, and the blue and yellow flag attached to it seems to have been ripped a bit.


Everybody was running that night. Out of the chaos, another loud sound made my ears hurt. Something passed above us and from the silhouette, I knew it was a plane. As we ran far enough, there was a car waiting for us. A man with a weird-looking outfit waiting beside the car, waving his hand for us to get in the car. The man wore a helmet and an oddly patterned shirt. He was holding something hanging from his shoulder, something that I usually see on TV, a gun.


It has been three weeks since the last time I saw dad. He did not join us on the car ride that night. I don’t really remember what happened in the car. After dad put the bag in the car, he said something to mom and leave immediately.


The car brings us to this ground, which has lots of tents. I live in one of them now. It is not really fun here since there is no TV. Lucky for me, mom found my favorite toy inside our bag. Dad really knows me best. On the ground, there are lots of kids my age. Some of them have played with me, and some of them said that they have seen that their house had been blown off. The information got me to think about my own house.


I keep asking my mom when we will get to see dad and will be able to come home again (if it still exists), but she always tells me, “Just wait”. Sometimes I try to play with the odd patterned shirt guys. There were a lot of them. When I asked them to play with me, they seem to ignore me. One time, one of them told me that we are in a “war”. I wish I knew what it means.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What is enough?

“Living as a rat was never an easy thing, especially if you’re a city rat. There are uncountable threats that could kill you at any given...

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page